Skip to main content

Chairman’s Message

Prof. NG Yat Nam Petrus

Prof. NG Yat Nam Petrus

2020-2021 is a year full of challenges.

 

Joint response to the epidemic

In response to the repeated outbreaks of the coronavirus epidemic, Richmond Fellowship of Hong Kong keep changing different operational arrangements in order to protect our service users and employees in response to the need to fight the coronavirus. During the year, lots of anti-epidemic supplies, shopping vouchers, nutritious food, soup vouchers and other materials were distributed. Apart from expressing our sincere concerns when they are separated from each other, we also hope to help to enhance the immunity and to reduce the chance of infection as much as possible. Since the first half of 2020, in order to align with the government’s epidemic prevention policies, all our departments have adopted stringent inflection and prevention control and declaration measures. In addition, non-emergency physical services have been suspended and we have arranged some staff to work from home to provide our service users telephone and online supports. During this period, we have received sponsorships from Jockey Club Community Sustainability Fund and Providence Foundation Limited, and so we are able to give service users, family members, and primary and secondary school students with free mobile phones, tablets, data packages and other equipment. Aim on replacing the physical gatherings and services in our centres temporarily, many trainings regarding online communications are provided and to enable the relevant people to adapt the new normal of services. However, there are services that need to operate around the clock, such as residential training services and our hotline service, JUSTONE 24-Hour Community Mental Health Support Project, responding to the needs of the community without interruption. In the early stage of the epidemic, the number of calls in the hotline service had an increment of 17% in just two months. It is obvious that the public’s need for emotional support is also increased. We also strengthened individual health education in the residential training services. We employed strategies by setting up some equipment to reduce interpersonal contact and suspending guest visit to reduce the possibility of virus infection or spread. And each residential service unit also conducted drill exercises during the year to simulate immediate response measures in the event that an individual in the house was infected, so that our colleagues and roommates could be well prepared for possible crisis that may happen. Since then, in response to the government's epidemic prevention regulations, colleagues have also tested and vaccinated regularly as needed. With the concerted efforts of service users and colleagues at all levels, all departments of this association have achieved a comprehensive prevention of virus infection.

 

Restructure and make good use of expertise

We sincerely valued different stakeholders’ participation of the Fellowship’s affairs, therefore we have established multiple advisory committees on different units and the members include mental health service-related professionals, persons in recovery, family members, and volunteers. Over the years, different services have undergone different developments and achievements, and there is a need to reorganize the structure of the advisory committee. In order to optimize the arrangements of the advisory committees and make good use of human resources, the executive committee resolved in 2021 to reorganize the advisory committees of service units of the similar nature so that more professionals can join other subcommittees in order to strengthen the operation of the entire governance team.

 

Stable resources, sustainable development

Although the continuing recurring epidemics are causing barriers and individual service users may have negative emotions as affected by the social atmosphere, our outstanding colleagues adhere to their pure hearts, stick to their posts, and take continuous service provision as their own responsibility not only to maintain high-quality service, but also open up new projects. During the year, our financial reserves were sufficient, and the lump-sum allocation reserve continued to be maintained at an optimal level; human resources were also very stable, and the staff turnover rate was also dropped significantly compared with the previous year.

In terms of service development, our hotline service, JUSTONE 24-Hour Community Mental Health Support Project, is sponsored by the Lee Hysan Foundation, Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation and Kerry Group. This service will be extended for another two years starting from January 2021, and we hope that the government will support this project in the future and make it as our another subvented service. Up to now, the hotline introduced the chat robot, Justbot, as a service triage, to provide online support that allow citizens to ask for help simply through text messages, and the further upgrade of the system allowed integration of internet phone and computers, so that various departments can operate related services at the same time, which greatly improves the flexibility of the service.

During this year, we have developed a number of brand-new services. As the service needs of youth and young family members have gradually attracted attention, we have implemented the "Mental Health Smarties" service plan, which provides parent-child play therapy training on our ICCMWs (Aloha) as the service base. In addition, in order to improve the life skills of the service users of our residential training service and to increase the green environment, sponsored by The Board of Management of the Chinese Cemeteries, "Finding the Root of Life" project was implemented using horticultural therapy in Tsui Wah House to attract the participation of the service users; and the aquaponics system in the project is enjoyable and educational. In the second half of 2021, our Alohas in Wong Tai Sin and Hong Kong East have received funding from the Arts Development Fund for the "Always Have Your Stage" project to allow participants to develop their own strengths and learn to express themselves in musical instruments or drama.

Our service development is not limited to the regular services. Colleagues continue to develop innovative service projects to respond to the growing needs in the community. In 2021, headed by Horace Cheung, the project "Daddy Hour" was selected by InnoPower@JC: Fellowship for Teachers and Social Workers as one of the funding projects this year, and training and development funds were given. Richmond Fellowship Community Network has also received the sponsorship of the Freemasonry, and entrust the Fellowship and implement the "Mission CIRCLE" Project together to further train the talents of its members to develop self-help organizations.

In public education, apart from regular intervention services, our agency provided mental public education through various social and mainstream media. Last year, our social media activities have been substantially increased according to the needs during the pandemic period and social environment. In the third quarter of 2021, we obtained the sponsorship from Janssen Pharmaceuticals to launch a two-episode mental health program “If-you-feel-alone” in ViuTV to address the relevant knowledge and personal experience in depression in Hong Kong by professional staff and caregiver.

 

Promote the service concept of "Recovering Citizenship"

After years of deliberation, our agency plans to localize relevant service methods in Hong Kong with reference to the service concept of "Recovering Citizenship" originated from Yale University. As early as the beginning of 2020, we sent six colleagues to Yale University to learn how to apply the relevant techniques. Yet after they returned to Hong Kong, the COVID-19 epidemic happened, and so only online activities and trainings to other colleagues could be delivered. And until September 2021, we launched the relative pilot group in online mode. Now the first phase of the pilot group has been completed as scheduled and the second phase group can be carried out face to face in response to the alleviation of the epidemic and I believe the result will be better. In addition, the graduation ceremony of the first family training course was held in 20 August 2021. From the perspective of another stakeholder, the participation of family members represents the support and promotion of the Recovering Citizenship. The 14th AsPac International Mental Health Conference was originally scheduled in Hong Kong in December of 2021 to showcase the practice and reflection of the Recovering Citizenship. However, we need to put off the conference to the end of 2022 due to the impact of customs and quarantine regulations in various countries caused by the epidemic.

 

Summary

Despite the repeated epidemics during the year, many face-to-face services could not be delivered due to the implementation of new public health policies, yet we maintained financial and manpower stability and at the same time we launched various new service development and public education by receiving sponsorship from the government and multiple foundations, as well as strong support from colleagues among different professions, persons in recovery, caregivers, and volunteers to respond to the demand for services from the society. On behalf of the Executive Committee of the Fellowship, I would like to convey my sincere thankfulness to all the stakeholders for your every effort made to support us in person or financially. And I need to thank our hard-working colleagues who dedicate their efforts to overcome different challenges during this remarkable year. Because of you, Richmond Fellowship of Hong Kong continues to walk with the people in need in the society!we need to put off the conference to the end of 2022 due to the impact of customs and quarantine regulations in various countries caused by the epidemic.

移至主內容

主席獻辭

吳日嵐 教授

吳日嵐 教授

2020至2021年度是面對挑戰的一年。

 

共同應對新冠疫情

在冠狀病毒世紀大爆發的疫情多次反覆之下,利民會為了充分保障服務使用者和員工,因應抗疫需要不斷改變運作的安排,在年內又多次向服務使用者及員工致送防疫用品、購物劵、營養食品及湯劵等物資,旨在疫情中彼此分隔時仍然不斷表達關顧,並讓大家增強免疫力,盡可能減低感染的機會。在 2020年上半年開始,各部門為配合政府的防疫政策,一方面採取嚴密的防疫及申報措施,同時暫停了非緊急的實體接觸,改為安排部份服務單位的同事留家工作,向服務使用者提供電話及線上的支援。 這期間本會分別獲得賽馬會的抗疫基金及悟宿基金的贊助,向服務使用者,家屬和中、小學生送贈手提電話、平板電腦和上網咭等設備,又給予訓練,讓相關的人士能在線上通訊及參與小組活動,使線上支援迅速成為服務的新常態,暫時取代了在服務中心內的實體聚會。不過,有需要全天候運作的服務,例如: 住宿訓練及即時通24小時精神健康守護同行計劃則毫不間斷地維持服務,回應社區需要。 即時通的熱線服務在爆疫初期,短短兩個月內的求助來電經已上升17%,顯見市民的情緒支援需求有 所增加。住宿訓練服務則加強了個人健康教育,同時透過設置一些減少人際接觸的設備及謝絕外賓探 訪等策略,避免病毒感染或蔓延。各住宿服務單位更在年內分別進行了演習,模擬萬一在宿舍中有個別人士受到感染時的即時應變措施,使舍友和同事都能居安思危,預先做好應對危機的準備。其後, 因應政府的防疫規定,各同事亦按需要定時檢測及接種疫苗,在服務使用者和各級同事上下一心的努力之下,本會各部門經已做到了全面預防病毒感染的果效。

 

重整架構、善用專長

本會歷來十分重視不同持份者在會務上的參與,故在服務單位之上設有多個諮詢委員會,成員包括精神健康服務相關專業人士、復元人士、家屬及義工等。多年來不同的服務都經歷了不同的發展,有需要對諮詢委員會架構作出重組。為了優化各諮詢委員會的安排,並善用人力資源,執行委員會在2021年議決將相同性質服務單位的諮詢委員會重組,讓更多專業人員可以加入其他小組委員會,強化整個管治團隊的運作。

 

穩定的資源、持續的發展

儘管持續反覆的疫情強令人際隔閡,個別服務使用者可能受到社會氛圍影響而產生負面情緒,但本會優秀的同事秉持赤子之心,緊守崗位,以持續提供服務為己任,既維持優質的服務,又開拓嶄新的項目。年內,本會財務儲備充足,整筆撥款儲備額繼續維持在理想的水平; 人力資源也十分穩定,人手流轉率較上年度還有明顯下降。

在服務發展方面,即時通24小時精神健康守護同行計劃,得到利希慎基金、周大福基金及嘉里集團的 贊助,自2021年1月開始延續服務兩年,並期望往後能得到政府將這項服務納入資助範圍。該服務項目在這階段更加入了聊天機械人擔任服務分流,並提供線上支援容許市民透過文字訊息求助,更將系統提升,以網絡電話及電腦聯通,讓各部門可以同時操作有關服務,大大提昇了這些服務的彈性。

這年內,本會又開發了多項嶄新服務。隨著青少年及幼小家屬的服務需要漸受關注,本會推行了《智叻精靈》服務計劃,以友樂坊為基地,提供親子遊戲治療訓練。此外,為協助住宿服務的舍友提升生 活技能,並增加綠化的環境,翠華之家獲華永會資助《尋找生命根「園」》計劃,在宿舍之內採用園 藝治療的手法吸引舍友參與,其中所設置的魚菜共生系統,既可觀賞,亦有教育意義。黃大仙及港島東友樂坊則在2021年下半年開始獲藝術發展基金資助《總有你舞台》計劃,俾參加者各自發展所長, 學習以樂器或戲劇方式表達自己。

本會的服務發展,並不止於原有的服務。同事們不斷發展創新的服務項目,以回應社區內持續增長的需求。在2021年,張斯皓同工策劃的《暖爸吧》計劃獲賽馬會教師社工創新力量計劃挑選為本年度的資助項目之一,並給予相關的訓練和發展資金。利民社區網得到共濟會的贊助,委托本會管理及共同推行《元圈行動》計劃,進一步訓練會員的才能以發展自助組織。

在公眾教育方面,本會除了在常規服務的介入之外,亦透過不同的社交及主流媒體提供精神健康教育。 過去一年,在本會網站及社交媒體發放相關的資訊及節目亦因應疫情及社會需要而大幅度增加。在 2021年第三季,本會更獲贊臣藥廠贊助於VivTV以孤獨病為主題,播出一連兩集關於抑鬱症的精神健康教育節目,專業服務人員和復元人士家屬一同剖析了相關知識及親身體會。

 

推動「復元公民」服務理念

本會醞釀經年,參考耶魯大學的「復元公民」的服務理念,擬把有關服務手法在香港本土化。早在 2020年初,本會派出六人參訪團,前往耶魯大學參觀學習,從中了解如何應用有關手法。惟他們回港時,適值新冠病毒在港肆虐,只能透過線上活動訓練其他同事,而有關的先導小組亦僅在同年9月才在線上開始推行。如今第一階段的先導小組經已如期完成,第二階段的小組因應疫情緩和,可以實體進行,相信效果會更加理想。此外,第一屆家屬訓練課程畢業禮於2021年8月20日舉行,而家屬的參與, 代表著從另一個持份者的角度支持和推動復元公民計劃。有關復元公民的實踐及反思,訂於第14屆利民會亞太論壇會議中展示。有關會議原訂於2021年12月在香港舉行。惟因疫情引致多國封關及檢疫法 規的影響,該會議順延至2022年底方才舉行。

 

總結

儘管在這一年內疫情反覆,公共衛生政策令服務單位在期間大部份時間未能實體進行服務,本會一方面維持財政和人手穩定,另方面亦推動了多項嶄新服務發展及公眾教育,並在其中獲得政府及多個基金的贊助,又得到不同專業的同工、復元人士、家屬、義工及同事的鼎力支持,回應了社會對服務的需求。在此謹代表利民會執行委員會仝人誠摯感謝所有曾經出力或出資支持的持份者,也特別鳴謝在這一年時局挑戰之中仍緊守崗位、不懈努力的同事,讓利民會能繼續與社會上的弱勢社群同行!