Chairman’s Message

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: search_block_form in drupal_retrieve_form() (line 807 of /var/www/html/includes/form.inc).
  • Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, function 'search_block_form' not found or invalid function name in drupal_retrieve_form() (line 842 of /var/www/html/includes/form.inc).
  • Notice: Array to string conversion in drupal_attributes() (line 2437 of /var/www/html/includes/common.inc).
  • Prof. Patrus Ng

I took up the chairmanship of the Executive Committee last year, feeling the upcoming challenges. Dr. WS YEUNG, my predecessor, and all the past chairpersons have laid a great foundation for the Fellowship’s continuous development through their progressive leadership over the years. Given their excellent contributions, it would not be an easy task to bring further novel development. I do sincerely thank all the ex-chairpersons for their great effort, in particular to Dr. WS YEUNG for his devotion over the last two decades, leading the Fellowship through various multi-dimensional and creative developments.

Last year saw the Fellowship taking “Walk with Recovery “as the theme, to continually support people in recovery (PIR), and to take new service approaches addressing service users’ need.

 

Continual development of new services

JUSTONE mental health support service was funded by Drs Richard Charles & Esther Yewpick Lee Charitable Foundation for a period of two year, providing 24 hours support, to continue its ambit of safety net in community to fill service gaps. RFCN is funded by the same grant to develop a mutual help network among PIR, through linking them to enhance their personal strength, and subsequently to help them form a self-help organization.

The two ICCMWs (i.e. ALOHA) have taken new attempts for intervention. ALOHA(WTS) and ALOHA(Eastern) has used music therapy and board game respectively for helping service users in improving problem solving ability and communication skill. In the coming year, the Fellowship will deploy Photovoice means in group intervention, not only in mobilizing PIR for advocacy, but also for helping community members to more understanding and in turn de-stigmatization towards PIR.

 

Further development of mainland services

Our mental health services in mainland had substantial development. Richmond China Enrichment project received funding from Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation since September 2013. In September 2015, the Foundation had generously extended the support for another two years. The Guangzhou Richmond Mental Health Social Work Resource Centre has been assigned to supervise and assess the performance of all ICCMW at Guangzhou. Enping Likang Social Service Centre was established in 2015 using social work approaches to provide supportive social services to the Enping community.

 

Way forward for excellence

To ensure the Fellowship’s continual stable development, Executive Committee has established a Three-year strategic development plan in collaboration with the Director, anchoring clear directions for service development, management and human resources, establishment of new resources for services, and retaining of talents for nurturing successors.

 

Concluding remarks

In the last year, the Fellowship’s substantial development hinged on the support and participation from government officials, funding bodies, business partners, volunteers, family caregivers and service users. I am also grateful for contributions and efforts from all staff in the service team to cater with different service and social need, in compliance with the implementation of the Three-year strategic plan. Let’s look forward for joining hands to walk with people in recovery.

 

Prof. Ng Yat Nam, Petrus
Chairman

主席獻辭

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: search_block_form in drupal_retrieve_form() (line 807 of /var/www/html/includes/form.inc).
  • Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, function 'search_block_form' not found or invalid function name in drupal_retrieve_form() (line 842 of /var/www/html/includes/form.inc).
  • Notice: Array to string conversion in drupal_attributes() (line 2437 of /var/www/html/includes/common.inc).
  • Prof. Patrus Ng

我在去年接任執行委員會主席一職,實感充滿挑戰。前任主席楊位爽醫生及歷任主席在過去多年來的積極領導,讓利民會服務日益發展,建基立業,奠定豐厚的基礎。珠玉在前,要再創新猷,殊不容易。我先在此衷心感謝各位前任主席的努力,尤其是楊醫生參與利民會工作二十多年,並領導本會各項多元及創新的發展。

我在去年接任執行委員會主席一職,實感充滿挑戰。前任主席楊位爽醫生及歷任主席在過去多年來的積極領導,讓利民會服務日益發展,建基立業,奠定豐厚的基礎。珠玉在前,要再創新猷,殊不容易。我先在此衷心感謝各位前任主席的努力,尤其是楊醫生參與利民會工作二十多年,並領導本會各項多元及創新的發展。

 

創新服務持續發展

本會的《即時通》精神健康支援服務,獲利銘澤黃瑤璧慈善基金提供兩年資助,提供24小時支援服務,繼續發揮社區保護網的作用,以彌補現有服務不足。《利民社區網》亦同獲該基金提供資助,以連結復元人士運用個人優勢,建立互助網絡,並將會組成自助組織。

本會兩間精神健康綜合社區中心,在介入手法上不斷嘗試創新。黃大仙友樂坊及港島東友樂坊分別引入音樂治療及桌上遊戲治療,協助服務使用者改善解難能力和溝通技巧。來年本會將會以Photovoice形式推行小組活動,除推動復元人士參與倡議工作之外,更期望能有助社區人士對復元人士的了解及去污名化。

 

進一步開發國內服務

在國內推動精神健康服務更有長足的發展,《薪火相傳》國內社工培訓服務,自2013年9月開始獲「周大福慈善基金」資助,2015年9月再獲該基金慷慨延續兩年資助。本會成立的廣州利民精神健康社會工作資源中心獲政府聘任負責各精神健康綜合社區中心的督導及作服務評估﹔《恩平利康社會服務中心》亦在2015年成立,運用社會工作專業手法,為恩平社區的居民提供支援性的社會服務。

 

邁步向前、精益求精

為令機構能繼續穩健發展,執行委員會協同總幹事訂定三年策略發展計劃,在服務發展、管理及人力資源、資源開發、及公共關係等訂立明確的發展方向,以提升機構形象、開拓新資源發展新服務、儲備人才為機構培訓接班梯隊。

 

結語

過去一年,機構發展成果豐碩,實有賴政府官員、基金團體、商界夥伴、義工、家屬及服務使用者的支持和參與,更感謝機構服務團隊各員工的貢獻和努力,面對不同的服務及社會需要,以及配合實踐三年策略發展計劃,期望各持份者能與機構攜手同步,為復元人士努力。

 

主席

吳日嵐教授